Science-y stuff: Premium Rush and Taken 2

Ok, so I know I haven’t posted anything in a while, but it was my granddad’s funeral on Friday, and now that’s finally dealt with, I can resume semi-normal life again.

Ok, Premium Rush is the new Joseph Gordan Levitt movie (he’s pretty badass btw) where he plays an extreme bike messenger in New York delivering packages and doing generally extreme stuff. He rides a bike with a fixed gear (one single gear ratio, and you can’t coast, if the wheels are moving the pedals must be going) and no breaks, which make for some crazy stunts! Now, I may sound like a broken record here (maybe movie producers are being guilted by my blog), but there were no glaring scientific inaccuracies: I’m assuming that all the bike stunts were done in real life (they’re all plausible if rather insane!), and apart from the guy surviving a horrendous accident, breaking multiple ribs and then getting up a bit later and doing Xtreme things again, it was rather entertaining 🙂

Taken 2….I’ll let that sink in for a bit. The most underrated action movie of the past 10 years has a sequel! For those of you who don’t know, Taken came out a few years ago with almost no hype, and proceeded to blow people away. All it’s action scenes were very well done and realistic, with one of the most badass “speeches” in any movie ever. It’s the story of an ex-wet works operative (wet work is the nasty killing/torturing business that needs to be done so we can sleep at night) whose daughter gets kidnapped by sex-slave Albanian mafia types, and he then proceeds to destroy most of Paris’ underworld in the process of getting her back. Really worth watching.

Well anyway, the sequel is slightly more reserved, with slightly more emphasis on the story bits, but no less action packed. It has all the bells and whistles to keep action fans happy. Ladies, I’m sorry but the romance in the movie is secondary. Alas, like the above movie, it’s pretty physically accurate apart from a rather dubious navigation method of using grenades. Also, two inhabitants of an unarmoured car survive a 10 second burst of 50. cal machine gun fire, along with multiple US marines and their assault rifles just by ducking. And since the US Marine corp likes to consider themselves hardcore (and in their defence, they are quite), one would have thought they’d be able to kill the car’s passengers. Heck, I’ve never fired a gun and I reckon I could have done it.

Alright, I’ll admit I’ve been slacking lately with my reviews, so I’ll have to start watching older movies, they’re always good for a lack of science 😛

Jeremy

10 thoughts on “Science-y stuff: Premium Rush and Taken 2

  1. Another JGL movie?? Be still, my heart. He’s certainly everywhere this year.
    Ohhh, I was going to post my review of Taken 2 soon. Awesome! Dunno about realistic lol, but certainly badass action scenes.

    • Well, by realistic I mean doesn’t break the laws of physics and such 🙂 It’s got the whole Bourne vibe going on in terms of gritty combat

  2. I hope the funeral went okay. 🙂

    I thought Taken was excellent, but a lot of people I know have said the sequel wasn’t nearly as good. Still worth a watch?

    I haven’t heard of Premium Rush, what’s that one about? I’m curious!

  3. I couldn’t make the funeral ’cause it was in England 😦 but it sounded beautiful!
    Taken 2 wasn’t as good, and I’m not saying it’s a good movie, but it’s got car chases and shooting and Liam Neeson kicking ass, so it does ok 🙂
    JGL (as cleverpretender above puts it) unwittingly has to deliver a payment to a triad to get a lady’s child into the country, but someone wants to stop him, and all hell (well, not all hell. Just a little bit of difficulty) breaks loose.

Leave a Reply

