Mini-review: The Dark Knight Rises, and a side note on the Olympics

Dark Knight Rises characters

Yes. This is my current wallpaper

EDIT: I have no idea how I so callously forgot about the Colorado shootings when I wrote this blog, and so I apologise profusely and sincerely and  I send out condolences, sympathies and prayers from myself along with all other South Africans who heard of it.

I know I said previously that I wouldn’t review movies as such because I don’t think I have that particular talent, but I’d like to watch a second time while I’m calmer, but I’d just like to say a short piece about The Dark Knight Rises.  😀 😀 😀

Now moving on to the Olympics. Just kidding. But that’s all you really need to know. If you liked the previous two you will find this the most fitting ending to best Batman story line yet. All the regulars appear again in the final movie of the trilogy (note: it’s NOT triology), with the exception of The Joker, which I can understand. But there was talk of using some unused footage from The Dark Knight and a bit of CGI. I think it would have been nice to see the Joker, even just for a “cameo” as a nod to Heath Ledger. But I’m sure Christopher Nolan had his reasons 🙂

At just over 2h30m the movie does feel a bit long, since the beginning feels a tad long, but by the end you will be so engaged you forget all about it. I couldn’t take Anne Hathaway too seriously as Catwoman, but I still do not have any complaints. The rest of the cast was stellar as per usu (no idea how to make it come across as what I want to sound like), with Christian Bale giving his very good Batman performance, moving me with his plight. But a special mention must be made about Tom Hardy as Bane. Even though you never really see his face, or hear what he is saying half the time, his body language alone is amazing. You really feel his power and hatred. And if he did the voice himself well done to him (I blame poor post production for the lack of clarity). He is definitely a worthy, B.A.D.A.S.S. adversary for Batman. While the Joker was frightening in a psychopathic way, Bane is completely sane and entirely devoid of empathy, and more than a physical match for Batman.

Batman’s gadgets are obviously present, with a cool new addition from the Bat. Watch it and you’ll know what I mean 😉 The fight scenes are quite well done, the CGI is just amazing, and the scale of some of the scenes just incedible like the one in the football stadium…And this is why I don’t write reviews, I run out of steam halfway…I’ll finish off saying if you like action movies, superhero movies, Batman, or movies that comment on what people do under the direst of circumstances and how they are sometimes prepared to fight back, kick ass and take names then this is for you.

This post is already sitting at 463 words, so I’ll stop this post and make a separate one for the Olympics, they are important enough to deserve their own post. It’ll hopefully be up soon 🙂

Jeremy

4 thoughts on “Mini-review: The Dark Knight Rises, and a side note on the Olympics

  1. I couldn’t watch the movie without relating it to the horrific shooting! I think it should be taken off being shown for awhile. until survivors and relatives of those murdered heal a little!.

    • I can imagine that being such an overpowering thought that I wouldn’t be able to watch like that. I was fortunate then to not have that association. I agree it was absolutely awful, but I I’m afraid I disagree when you say it should be taken down. It would be impossible to do it world wide, and I think in the United States alone it would difficult. The victims of the attack would be too exposed to the movie already, and trying to hide all traces of its existence would be extremely hard. The movie would exist for the survivors no matter what happens, and healing takes time, not hiding from the source.

  2. I haven’t watched this yet but I thought Anne Hathaway was completely the wrong choice for Catwoman, but then again I had the whole Halle Berry catwoman thing stuck in my head, I really love that film!

    • (*whisper*) I’m afraid I haven’t seen the Halle Berry Catwoman movie! But I’m sure I’d be a bigger fan of her than Anne Hathaway 😛

Leave a Reply

