My view: The Amazing Spiderman (and an extension of my ranting)

First off, I’d just like to put it out there that the Amazing Spiderman movie is, well, Amazing! It beats the Toby McGuire ones by quite a long shot! The Peter Parker character is the less serious one as portrayed in most of the comic books; he doesn’t take himself too seriously. But I’m not trying to write a movie review blog, I don’t seem to be able to that particularly well.

What I do seem to do particularly well is get annoyed. Especially by things that are not accurate to real life physics/knowledge. So I’m going to try my hand at semi-theme-ing (theme-ing is a new verb I just made up) my blog.

Scientific Inaccuracies in the Amazing Spiderman

  • Gwen (Spidey’s girlfriend) calls him “bug boy” at one point: Firstly, spiders are not bugs, nor are they even insects; they are in fact arachnids (invertebrates that have 8 legs, generally small and well, insect-like). And not all insects are bugs, “bug” is a term used to define an insect that has a proboscis, and wings with a hardened outer layer (check it out here: True Bug definition). Now I’d normally forgive this kind of error; most people are not well versed with entomology (I’m not an expert either, I’m just pedantic), but Gwen is a science-minded girl and works with a biologist type Doctor chap, so I’m being more harsh on her).
  • The bad guy in the movie at one point attacks the high school, busting up from the sewers into the bathroom. This is almost impossible, because most buildings do not have big enough sewer pipes for something that big to climb through right below bathrooms. Plumbing tends to be bedded in concrete or the foundations, a smallish pipe that carries the wastewater away from the building, only meeting up with a main water way out from under the building. So there’s no way someone is busting a hole as big as the one in the movie right below a toilet.
  • In this movie Spiderman goes back to his comic book based web swinging and slinging, using a device attached to his arm, not shooting it out his arm as in the older ones. The movie says it’s based upon nano technology, using super strong threads and such. I’m not up to date enough on this sort technology to comment about that aspect, but what I can say is that when Spidey attaches the web to the side of a building to swing, the web is only attaching to the surface of the wall. Now, the kind of stress imparted from a medium sized “teenage” boy swinging at that speed, with sudden changes in momentum, would be more than enough to fracture and break the surface of wall the web is attached to, sending our intrepid hero plummeting downwards to certain doom.

Now, I watched the movie two days ago, and to be honest I was sitting there in such awe of the awesomeness of the movie I can’t remember any more inaccuracies, so I’ll leave it there. This is just a test post, please don’t think I’m TOO bothered by the above kind of thing, I just thought it would be something interesting-ish to write about. If you enjoyed the post would you be so kind as to comment, and if you didn’t you may also comment, just please do not damage my fragile ego too much 😛

Jeremy

13 thoughts on “My view: The Amazing Spiderman (and an extension of my ranting)

  1. Hahaa, nice one! I always wonder about the inaccuracies in films, but most of the time I’m not knowledgable enough to know.
    It does irritate me quite often that people seem to refer to Schizophrenia the wrong way though, that’s one topic I actually know a little about! 🙂

    Glad to see you enjoyed the film!

    • Thanks for the comment, I’ll try and bring more to light so the public may be aware of the atrocities committed before their very eyes 😛 I’ll admit my knowledge does not extend deep into psychological territory, I’ll read up on Schizophrenia so I may post about should it ever come up 🙂

  2. I am yet to see the movie, but if I do go and see it, it has VERY high standards to live up to as I love the original movie and the way Tobey Maguire portrayed him 🙂 Tsk tsk Gwen, I would have been harsh on her too for the fact I just spent weeks revising arachnids and insects! 😛

    • Should the movie not live up to those VERY high standards I apologise, but it will not!…should not anyway 🙂 haha glad someone else out there knows the difference between the two, and you’ll be way more clued up than I am about it, I can imagine you wouldn’t let Gwen forget about it 😛

      • I’m sure it’ll be great 😀 But Tobey Maguire will always be my favourite I think 😛 Hahahaha oh I will never forgive her for that, especially the fact she is ment to be a biologist! 😛

  3. Your fragile ego is safe here. I am so glad I’m not the only pedantic person out there. Love that scientific inaccuracies are finally being brought to light. Keep it up, your blog is a highlight in my mundane existence. Definitely going to go see said movie.

    • Hahaha thanks Chloe, you are definitely not the only pedantic person out there (I don’t know many more, but there only needs to be a few of us for it to be cool (can’t have too many or it’ll be come mainstream and uncool anyway 😛 )). Glad I can brighten your day some, and if you as nerdy as most of the civil class (me included) you should enjoy the movie 🙂

  4. At one point Gwen sets off the fire control system in an industrial laboratory. scenario 1 would have been it activates a halon flood and she dies halfway through her first breath as halon is deadly poison. scenario 2 would be where the room is flooded with C02 and she dies while hiding in a closet because the way CO2 stops fires is it displaces the oxygen. that’s on of the inaccuracies I noted. cheers!

    • Ah! Yes! I remember that now! In an industrial setting they’re far more worried about saving research. I remember from Terminator 2 something similar happened.Thanks for the comment, and cheers!

  5. well some spider silks are 10 times tougher than kevlar, and have high tensile strength. if we play around and have silks with adequate diameter, perhaps item #3 is feasible. two cents.

    • Hey Jen, thanks for the comment. It certainly sounds feasible, especially since kevlar is pretty tough already 🙂 I apologise if there was ambiguity in point #3, but I was trying to comment on the tensile strength of brick and concrete, which is extremely low, far to low to support Spiderman swinging with a bolt being put into the wall 🙂

  6. I recently watched the Amazing Spiderman. Even with the scientific inaccuracies, Oh My Word! I felt like a kid again, having to suppress the urge to start cheering in the movie house. (And the monster scientist was waaaay cooler) hahaha…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

