My view – Prometheus

So Prometheus was released this past Friday in South Africa, and it being sci-fi I obviously went to see opening night. Supposedly it was this year’s big blockbuster, but the only way I knew about it was that I’d seen the trailer in previous movies, which was really compelling. But, as we all know, trailers aren’t always accurate portrayals of movies. I found most of the best bits were in the trailer.

And the movie leaves quite a few things unexplained, and even if they’re not plot critical, it’s still frustrating. So I sat quite perplexed throughout the movie. That is until the end. The end blew my mind a little, maybe even a lot. I didn’t expect it at all. The end makes the movie make a lot more sense, even if you do pick up on the subtle references to its pedigree through out the movie. Ridley Scott, you could have done more though.

It was also good to see Noomi Rapace from the Swedish Girl With The Dragon Tattoo movies in Western cinema. I thought she did good job in those. And for the record I don’t dislike non-western movies, I just can’t speak Swedish.

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

